The Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin has declared the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) as the majority group in the August house.

The speaker made the declaration during a Parliamentary sitting on Friday.

Who becomes the majority in Parliament has become a tug of war among the two biggest political parties in Ghana with the NPP MPs arriving at the Parliament house as early as 3:00am to take over the majority seats.

This is when the NDC MPs took over the majority seat during the inauguration of the 8th Parliament and the election of Speaker of Parliament on January 7, 2021.

The two parties had 137 MPs each in the just ended 2020 December polls but the NPP have been declared the majority following a letter from the Fomena MP, Hon. Andrews Amoako Asiamah to side with the party in Parliament.

The Second deputy Speaker of Parliament who is an Independent Candidate made the announcement in an official letter to the Speaker of Parliament few days ago.

His letter reads, “I, Andrew Asiamah Amoako, an independent Member of Parliament for Fomena Constituency and now 2nd Deputy Speaker for same Parliament do hereby declare that, I shall, for purpose of transacting Business in the house associate with the NPP Caucus in the Eighth Parliament”

“For the avoidance of doubt, I do hereby reaffirm that I shall collaborate with the NPP Caucus in the Eighth Parliament. Dated this 13th day of January 2021.”

His decision to side with NPP in the 8th Parliament has made the ruling party the majority in Parliament as declared by the Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin.



Leave A Reply